Go For the Gusher!

Standard

“[B]ut whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again.  The water that I will give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”  John 4:14

Lord, I really can’t stop thinking about this Living Water that You give.  Maybe I can’t stop thinking about it because it is soooooo important.  I imagine being lost in the desert like Sarah’s handmaid, Hagar and Ishmael, and weeping because I’m going to die and I’m going to have to watch my son die because we have no water.  We have no life source.  And then, You hear our weeping, our cry for life.  And You come and You supply the water, You supply our life.  But I’m not in the desert today, well, momentarily I was, but I’m beside a well in Samaria.  Well, really, I’m at a table in Starbucks.  But it doesn’t matter where I am.  I can’t live without Your Water to sustain me.  I’m desperate for You.  And I’m lifeless, dead, without You.

Image

And it’s not just about me, it’s about anyone who has ever existed or who will exist.  It’s about whoever.  It’s about you if you are reading this (and it’s even about the many “you’s” that aren’t reading this) and it’s about me.  Whoever drinks of the water You give.  But that’s the thing.  We are being offered water on every side.  Friends are offering.  The world is offering.  Jobs are offering.  Our own hearts are offering.  But they are really offering from empty wells or dirty wells, wells that can’t satisfy.  They just don’t have it.  And it’s not even that they just can’t satisfy, but they actually lead to death just like the desert.  They make promises but they have no power and no life to keep those promises.  But Your “promise of an ever flowing source of water of life is sure and steadfast for [You are] faithful and [have] the power to fulfill every promise [You] make”. (Precept Austin)

I wanted to understand more of this idea of a “well of water springing up.”  I wanted to get a picture of it.  The Greek word for “well” here is “pege.”  It refers to “something that gushes out or flows out as a spring or a well.  Precept Austin goes on to share, “It describes an underground source of water coming to the surface, a below-ground water source that has or bubbles up water.”  In other words, it’s flowing with life and fresh and new all the time.  This differs from a cistern or well that just contains stagnant or old, still water.  It’s not just a collection site.  And it’s in abundance, continually flowing, flowing freely.  Or it’s like a “fountain ‘living’ and leaping forth out of the ground.”

Well, that’s the physical.  So, what does the spiritual look like?  I’m not sure that looks are the best way to describe it, or even that feelings are.  And maybe it’s not even a sensation that you can describe it with.  Maybe it’s just the experiencing of it.  Maybe we just have to experience tapping into You, tapping into Your Living Water.  Maybe we just have to cry out to You to allow us to experience Your Living Waters bubbling over us, flowing through us, overflowing from us.  Your Living Waters are all that You are.  How do I describe that?  I read Your Word.  I cry out in prayer and longing for all that You tell me and show me that You are.  I realize how far I am from that.  I cry out for Your Living Waters to clean me.  I cry out for them to fill me with Your life.  How else can I be like You?  How else can I learn to love like You love?  How else can I learn to respond in patience like You?  How else can I learn to flow with Your Spirit unless Your Spirit flows in me?  How can I live without You?

Your Waters are my sustenance.   Your Waters give me life and keep me alive and they bring me into eternal life.  But it’s not mine unless I dive into the Waters and unless I let You dive into me.  In You is pure satisfaction.  I will never thirst again.  You are everything I was created for.  You are Fulfilment.  You continually satisfy, not just once.  You will satisfy me every day from the time I leap in, throughout eternity.  Because once I dive into Your Living Waters, once I drink of You, I can’t stop.  And You give me more and more of You so much that it overflows!  And there is no end!  It’s bursting up into the air like an amazing fountain, a fountain of Life!  Wow!  All because of You.

Lord, I want to continually dive into Your Living Waters.  Forget taking little steps, because I don’t want to just experience a little pleasure in You, I want to be immersed in the delight of You!  I want to drink You in and have You totally surround me.  And I pray that those reading this today would stop and seek Your Living Water, no matter where they’ve been looking for satisfaction or pleasure up to now.  That they would just stop and ask You to fill them.  That they would just stop and get honest with You even if it means saying, “Lord, I don’t have this.  I don’t even know how to feel filled because all I’ve known is emptiness.  I can’t seem to find what I’m searching for.  And I want to know what this Living Water is like.  I want to know You.  I want to know Your love and Your presence.  I want to be a part of You, forever.  I don’t want to be thirsty any more.  I’m desperate for the Truth and I’m desperate to be filled.  Take me to Your Living Waters.  Lord, I want to dive in and find Life.  I want to dive in and find You.  Let me experience Your Living Waters today, and let me know You.

And if you, Reader, find the Living Waters today, I’ll be dancing in the Waters with You.  Because you’ll have become my brother or sister in Christ.  And we will be one with Him.  We will be one in and with the Living Waters.  And I can’t think of a more wonderful place to be than in Him together!

 

 

Leave a Reply

