Send Me!

Standard

My meat is to do the will of Him that sent me, and to finish His work.  Do you not say, “There are yet four months, and then comes the harvest?”  Behold, I say unto you, “Lift up your eyes, and look on the fields; for they are white already to harvest.”  John 4:34,35

Image

It’s a good thing I’m not hungry now.  Because here You are talking about meat.  And that could get my mouth watering.  Well, not meat so much as thinking about food when I’m hungry.  But the truth of the matter is, I am hungry in a way.  I’m not physically hungry right now, but I am spiritually hungry.  And I think that’s what You really want me to think about here.

First, You were teaching me to be thirsty for You.  That was the lesson from the Samaritan woman at the well.  You were telling me that You are the only One who can satisfy my internal thirst.  Actually, You are the only One who can satisfy all my thirsts.  And here it is, the same day, still in Samaria, and You switch to using eating as Your choice picture.

What is the purpose of food?  Water quenches our thirst and sustains life.  What about food?  Well, I Googled it.  And Debra Auger, a Nutritionist, shared this intro, “There is a purpose for food beyond the fact that it tastes good and provides a sensual pleasure for the palate.”  I like that intro.  But the ultimate purpose of food is like that of water.  We need food to sustain our lives.  Without food, well, without appropriate food, we starve our bodies and we die.  So, Lord, I think You’re really trying to drive this point home.

Lord, the thing that pleases You, the thing that brings You delight, and that nourishes You and fills You with life is what? It’s participating in and fulfilling the pleasures and desires of Your heavenly Father.  And, wait a minute here, You are my example.  I am to follow You.   So that means that what should please me and bring me delight, that what should nourish me and fill me with life is also participating in and fulfilling the pleasures and desires of You and of my Heavenly Father.

Now You hone that in to Your disciples.  You tell them, “Look out at things physically here.  You understand how the harvest works.  You understand about planting and growing and then the harvest in this physical world.  Well, now I want You to think about it and understand it in the Spiritual.  Look at the people around You.  This is My field.  This is My harvest.  I want you to be part of it.  I want You to make Your life about gathering them in to me.  This is the absolute pleasure of our Heavenly Father.  This is His heart’s desire.  This is the whole purpose He sent me for.  This is Your purpose.”

It’s not really the Pastor’s purpose.  Well, it’s his purpose too, but it’s not just his purpose. This is the purpose for any disciple, for every follower of Jesus.  This is the whole purpose of the Living Waters.  They fill us and equip us and flow through us to Your glory and satisfy and nourish those around us.  Your Spirit draws them to You and we continue in the harvest.  Pastors aren’t sufficient.  There aren’t enough of them.  You desire each one of us to step up to the plate, so to speak.  We each have been given every tool we need for the harvest and You are telling us we need to get using them.  Someone else’s life and eternity depend on it.

That’s why in Mark and in Luke 10:2 You tell us, “The harvest truly is great, but the labourers are few:  you need to pray therefore to the Lord of the harvest, that He would send forth labourers into His harvest.”  I look out and I see this truly great harvest.  It’s overwhelming in its magnitude.  And no laborer can meet the need on their own.  But You, Lord, can raise up the laborers, an army of laborers who can work together in You and with each other in You, to meet that seemingly overwhelming need.  And it’s not about a mass of people.  It’s about every individual out there.  And You want us to meet their needs one by one, individual by individual, just like You do, one disciple at a time.  There is an intimitate relationship with each disciple.  There is no mass mentality here.  There is intimacy and true knowledge.  I should desire that with people just as You did.

Now, I just wanted to look at things realistically so I hopped over to Google again.  And I asked how many people are in the world.  That took me to the Worldometers site which is continually counting the world population.  So, according to their statistics, there are about 7,222,812,035 people worldwide and continually growing.  Doing another Google search led me to Pewresearch which shared that about 32% of the world’s population is Christian.  So I did a little calculating, and I’m no mathematician here.  But I took 32% of the total population which told me there are 231,129,985.2 Christians in the world.  Then I divided the total number of people in the world by the number of Christians in the world.  Lord, I came up with an astounding answer.  3.1257.  So if my calculations are correct, if every Christian in the world shared Your Living Waters with 3.1257 different people, the whole world could be harvested!  That is so doable.  So, why is that not happening?

Statistically we have all the labor force we need.  But what about spiritually?  Are we all prepared spiritually?  Do we all have the same focus as You?  Are we as thirsty and hungry as You for the things of the Father, for the things of You?  Are we dependent upon You, upon Your Living Waters?  Are we dependent upon Your meat?  Is our satisfaction in the joy of gathering in our brothers and sisters to You?  Is our joy in bringing our brothers and sisters into unity with us?  Because it looks to me as though there are lots of laborers, but they aren’t going into the fields.  It looks to me as though there are plenty of laborers but some aren’t being sent for a reason.

Because part of my prayer is that You would send the laborers out into the harvest.  There are labourers.   But maybe the point is that they are all not ready.  They aren’t all amply prepared.  Maybe some haven’t tapped into You yet the way they need to, in desperation, wholeheartedly.  I mean, it’s no good to send out a laborer who doesn’t have a heart like You.  It’s no good to send out a laborer who isn’t filled with Your Living Waters, who isn’t letting Your Spirit guide, direct, and change them.  It’s no good to send a laborer who isn’t listening to You.  So, what kind of laborer am I, Lord?

Lord, I so much want You to send me.  I want to do it Your way, in Your strength.  Train me up in Your ways.  Give me Your heart for the Father and the things he loves.  Give me Your heart for every person.  Give me eyes to see like You see.  Give me hands to touch with love and healing like You touch.  Give me ears to hear from You and to really listen and understand and to hear the real needs of others.  Give me a hunger and a thirst for the things that You hunger and thirst after.  Prepare me, equip me to be a faithful laborer.  And send me.  Please send me.  Send me where ever I can be a part of Your harvest with You.  Just send me and feed me so that I can feed You to others.  And so I can see them be fed and sent by You.

And Lord, build up the laborers who are out there.  Not just the ones already laboring.  Continue to strengthen and encourage them.  But raise up the others who haven’t committed yet.  Raise them up so they can know the full joy of serving in You and with You.  Raise them up so they can experience the joy that You experience when another child comes to You.  Raise them up to be what You have called them to be.  Lord, please raise them up and send them.  We need them.  They are part of our body.  But imagine if we all understood our calling.  Imagine if we all stepped forward into the harvest together.  Just imagine that!

 

Leave a Reply

