Obtaining the Desires of Your Heart

Standard

Photo credit goes to http://tcmarkets.com/

“Delight yourself also in the Lord; and He shall give you the desires of your heart.”  Psalm 37:4

Lord, You have been bringing the truth and reality of these words so to life.  All I can say is, “Yes!  Yes!” and a resounding, “Yes!”  It’s true.  It’s absolutely, unequivicably true.  Test it and see.  So I went back there in Scripture today and I’m looking at the verses that surround this beautiful truth and they are just as beautiful and all go together.

I’ll hop to the preceeding verse, verse 3.  “Trust in the Lord…”  Let’s start there.  Let’s examine that word, “trust.”  The Hebrew word is “batach.”  Strong’s Concordance says it properly means to hie for refuge.  I had to look up what hie means.  It means to move or run with haste.  So what does that make trusting in You mean for me?  It means that trusting in You is running to You, hurrying to You for refuge.  Now that either sounds like I’m coming to You in excitement or in desperation but that either way You are what I need and nothing else will satisfy.

So, I find myself coming to this point in my life and in my heart and in my thoughts where I see that I am in desperate need and desperate desire to hurry to You.  But it’s not just that I come to You.  In coming to You, I am in agreement with You.  Because You say, “Trust in the Lord, and do good…”  What if that “doing good” is all about finding my pleasure and delight in the only One who is Good?  What if Your goodness is all about the delight and pleasure that flows out from You to others and is exhibited through every part of Your wonderful character?  And what if that is the only way that I can do good?

How can I “do” good?  The Hebrew word for do is “asah.”  It means to make or do in a broad sense.  But it can also mean to bring forth.  I like that one.  Because then the base of the responsibility isn’t on me.  It’s not like goodness can be generated from me.  What I mean is that goodness can only be generated from You, Lord, and only if I am placing myself in You by trusting You as my only source of delight and pleasure and relying on You to fill me with Your delight and pleasure can that goodness flow out of me and become goodness that I can “do.”

Now how does this come about?  The promise from You is that I trust in You and do the good that flows from You.  How?  “…[S]o shall you dwell in the land, and verily you shall be fed.”  Another word for dwell is to abide.  And though this may be talking about the Jews and their land of inheritance, it’s also a promise that goes beyond physical land holdings.  It’s all about abiding in You, Lord.  That word for land, “erets”, can also refer to a way.  And can’t this be applied to me living, abiding in Your way?  And as I live in Your way, in the middle of delighting in You and being delighted in by You, You will tend my needs and my desires.  You will feed me with more of You.  Why?  Because more of You will become my greatest desire and my greatest delight.

See, that relationship established in verse three leads to what we find in verse 4.  “Delight yourself also in the Lord; and He shall give you the desires of your heart.”  As I trust more and more I begin to understand and enjoy and cherish what it is to delight in You and how much You really do delight in me as imperfect and broken as I am.  And as I delight in You and in what delights You, Your delight becomes the desire of my heart.  And since the desires of my heart are melding with the desires of Your heart, You give them to me.

But here’s the amazing thing.  Sometimes I have these little desires that I express to You.  They’re not specific desires always for the good of others.  They’re just things that I wish I could have the opportunity to delight in.  Like the other day when I was taking a friend to the grocery store.  I knew I had an expensive purchase so I shouldn’t get the food items we needed at that time.  We were out of fruits and I was really wishing I had some fruits to enjoy.  I saw my friend picking up a bag of oranges and thought, “Lord, I really wish I had some oranges.  But I better not get them now.”  And I left it at that.  Well, guess what?  When we got to the register, my friend holds up the bag of oranges and says, “I got a bag of these oranges the other day and they were so good.  I thought about you and wanted to get them for you because I knew you would like them.”  Can you believe that?  God gave me oranges!  He cares so much about my delight and He delights in me so much that He stopped to give me oranges!  And He had worked it out even before my prayer!  This amazes me.  He not only cares to raise funds for mission trips that I can’t raise on my own, and provides me with people to share His good news with and to love on, but He even cares about the little, unimportant things in my life.  He knows my heart.  He notices the little things.  He cares that much.  He delights in me THAT much!

Which takes me to why I want my whole life and everything that I am to be fully committed to Him.  Verse 4 says, “Commit your way unto the Lord; trust also in Him; and He shall bring it to pass.”  I’m committed.  And every morning and every moment and every night I will continually commit everything I am and everything I have to You, Lord.  Because sometimes my mind gets clouded with other delights.  But absolutely nothing compares to You.  And I am so learning that by experience.  And the more I experience Your delight in Your presence and Your provision and Your love, then the more I want to commit myself in and to You, and the more I trust in You, and the more You bring this all to pass.

Because these words are true, and I’m not talking about my words, I’m talking about Your words here.  I have an amazing testimony.  I’m a firsthand witness of the truth and actions of these words.  “Trust in the Lord, and do good; so shall you dwell in the land and verily you shall be fed.  Delight yourself also in the Lord; and He shall give you the desires of your heart.  Commit your way unto the Lord; trust also in Him; and He shall bring it to pass.”

Leave a Reply

