Faithful Over a Little

Standard

“…and behold, a voice from heaven said, ‘This is My beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased.'”  Matthew 3:17

Isn’t that wonderful how God announced Jesus and how much He loved Him and how pleased He was with Him?  Did you ever wish people felt about you that same way?  Did you ever wish that more than people feeling that way, God felt that way about you?  Well, the truth is that God is just waiting to say that about you and me.

So here was Jesus, Son of God; pure, holy, righteous One; submitting Himself under the baptism of repentance before all to see.  And why did He do it?  Because it was right in God’s eyes.  Now listen.  Jesus knows what pleases God. He knows, not just because He is God but because He loves the Word of God, the Torah that He has been learning from.  How do I know that?  Because when He was 12 years old and stayed back at the temple, the religious teachers were astounded by His understanding of the Scriptures.  Here’s a 12 year old boy that says, “I must be about my Father’s business.”  ” I must be involved actively in what my Father is involved in.”  This is a man actively and desirously and whole-heartedly involved in the will, the desires, of God.

Therefore, because the will of God is foremost on His heart, He submits to that will no matter what others think.  He obeys.  He delights in obeying.  And what is the result.  He gets wet?  People are impressed? “The heavens are opened to Him, and He saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and coming to rest on Him.”  Could it be that this type of behavior and heart attitude in my life would bring the same results from a God who is just waiting for me to respond to Him this way?  Could it be that when I come to God in repentance through Jesus, and turn from my life and ways to His, that I would begin to see the heavens opened up to me and that the Spirit of the living God would come to rest in me?

But it doesn’t stop there.  Then there was this voice from heaven and do you know what it said?  “This is My beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased.”  So what if I responded like that with a repentant life committed wholly to Your will, Lord?  After You give me eyes to see “heaven” and the Spirit to encourage, strengthen, and teach me, at that moment in time of turning to You, would I become beloved and would that be well pleasing to You?

That question and this whole thought transports me to Matthew 25:21,23 and Luke 19:17.  That’s the parable that You, Jesus, told about the three servants that were entrusted with “coins” by their master.  And two of the three servants had taken those “coins” and excitedly received them and applied them in life.  But the third servant had buried his and treated his as though he was afraid to touch it and had nothing to do with it.  And I want to focus on Your response to those two servants who grasped those “coins” as a treasure and a delight and invested them into their lives.  What was Your response?

“Well done, good and faithful servant.  You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much.  Enter into the joy of your master.”  And what was the response to the second servant?  “Well done, good and faithful servant.  You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much.  Enter into the joy of your master.”  Hmm.  They both got the same response.  Did they both have the same amount of “resources”?  No.  One had applied his 5 “coins” and the other his 2 “coins.”  And the master was just as pleased with both?

That’s the whole point.  It’s not a comparison to anyone else.  You, Lord, give us each this beautiful resource for life before any other resource.  That resource is Your beloved Son Jesus.  First and foremost what I do with Him will determine Your pleasure in me.  The moment that I am submitted in faith to the One who gave His life for me and rose to give me life, is the moment that I begin to see heaven and that Your Spirit comes to dwell in me.  Without Jesus in my life, without my commitment to Him, I’m the most unpleasing enemy You ever had.  But in Him my life is turned around.  In that moment that You see Jesus in my life, in me, I become Your beloved just like Him, and You become well pleased in me!

See, it doesn’t matter if I’m a Paul, or a Matthew, or a Mark, or a Zachius, or a Mary, or me.  All our “coins” are little compared to Jesus.  But will we surrender all that You’ve given to us, our every resource, every part of our life and being, to You?  Will I apply everything and every breath You give me to delighting in investing You in every area of my life and those around me?  It’s not the magnitude of what I do that pleases You.  The greatest of anything I could ever do is small stuff compared to You.  I know that all my good works are as filthy rags comparitively.  But a heart and life surrendered and delighting in pursuing Your will, that’s what living is all about.

I don’t really know how well I expressed these thoughts here.  I’m not sure if I’ve done You justice here, Lord.  But You know what I’m trying to say, because You’re the One giving me the eyes to see heaven more clearly, and it looks like beautiful You.  Yes,  just as You sent Jesus, so Jesus is sending me.  What did You give Him?  How much did He apply for You?  Did He delight in applying every part of Himself for You and in You?  What about me?  What You’ve given me, what You’ve made me, every circumstance, every possession, every part of my mind and my body and spirit, am I investing it forward?  Because it doesn’t matter that I’m not much or that I haven’t got much.  What matters is that You desire to do much with me for Your righteousness and for Your glory.  Is that what I live for?  Am I fully submitted to Your will?  Because living there in You is where I’m beloved and where You are well pleased in me.

Leave a Reply

