Basking in the Faithfulness of God

Standard

“God is faithful, by whom you were called into the fellowship of His son, Jesus Christ our Lord.”  1 Corinthians 1:9

“God is faithful…”  Yes, God is faithful!  You, Oh Lord, are faithful!  You are sure, true, and trustful.  You will continue this work in me that You have begun.  You will fulfill every promise You have made.  You will not change.  You ARE.  It is You who have called me and set me apart to a fellowship with Christ.  You have called me into a partnership, participation, intercourse, communication, and communion with You.  You have called me to reach this point, for this purpose, to this intent.  Your primary desire for me is to know You.  Let my heart’s desire be to know You fully.  Every day may I grow more in You, to know who I am in this partnership.

Teach me how to communicate with You.  Don’t they say that poor communication is what causes the break up of marriages?  Let our relationship always be full.  Teach me to participate with You.  My goal is not to do, but to be Yours.  I have reached my goal yet not in its complete state.  I am who You want me to be right now, because I am Yours.  Let me bask in You.

Remind me who I am every moment.  Remind me who You are always.  You could never love me more than You do already.  You don’t love me for what I do, You love me because I am Your child.  No matter what I do, You will always love me just as much.  I cannot do this work in me, but You, God, are faithful.  You will complete this work in me.

I will focus on being Your workmanship.  I will deal with the moment and not make the moment.  Help me not to jump ahead of You or onto a side path.  What You provide in me, I will use.  Teach me that I can not force the work in my life.  You are the only Craftsman, not me.

Yes, God, You are so faithful!  You are so faithful that You take these meditations from twelve years ago and You bring them before me again to remind me what once You already began to reveal.  But sometimes life gets hard, sometimes we feel like a failure, and sometimes we need to be reminded of what we already know but have forgotten.  I mean, it’s not like the first time You’ve reminded me of this, this faithfulness of Yours to love me so intensely and to stay by my side and even closer than that, to be the God who lives in me!

Situation after situation, it’s like You just keep saying, “Selah”.  It’s a little word, I guess, just a side word in Scripture.  “Think on this.”  It’s like You keep saying that in the midst of all the other things that are drawing my thinking to them, draw back to You.  Think on You.  Think on all the things that You’ve taught me.  Think on all the things that You’ve done in my life and those around me.  Think on the things that You walked through with David.  Think on the Psalms.  Think on the reality of what You were doing then and what You are doing now.

So before journaling, I spent time in Psalm 27.  David was having a tough time.  He was crying out to the Lord.  He did a lot, that crying out and going through a lot of tough times.  He starts out saying and believing (because it’s one thing to say something, but a whole other thing to believe what you say) that “The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear?  the Lord is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?  And I kept reading.  And as I read I would stop and think on it.  And I put it into words of a simple song.  And the whole thing reminded me that You are the One faithful in the midst of all of this.  That You, my God, yes, MY GOD, are my continual light and my continual salvation through the midst of everything in my life.  You reminded me that what David had learned and was learning about Your faithfulness and Your love, You are teaching me too.  I know this.  I just have to live like I believe it.

So, as I said, I wrote this song from Psalm 27.  And I’ll only share the refrain which comes from David’s initial meditations:  “Where/ Armies could surround me/ I will not cringe/ War break out around me/ They will never win/ You are the One that I trust in/  Whom shall I fear?”  So , knowing that I am Yours and that Your love for me and Your care for me will never change because You are forever faithful, whom shall I fear?  Troubles are going to come.  Time after time, I’ll have to go through hard things because I live in a broken world. 

But the truth of the matter is, my God is not broken.   My God is faithful.  My God is able.  Romans 14:14 tells me that God is able to make me stand. 1 Corinthians 10:13 reminds me that God makes me able to endure the trials in my life.  In 2 Corinthians 1:4 I’m reminded that He is able to comfort me in the midst of affliction.  In 2 Corinthians 9:8 I’m reminded that You, God, are able to make all grace abound to me, so that I’ll be sufficient in all things at all times, for the works You call me to.  And I could go on and on.  But writing this or saying this isn’t enough.  I have to live believing this.  This is truth.  I know.  Because You, God are Truth.  Yes, my God, our God, is faithful!  And I am in Him!  My God is forever faithful in me!  This is what I must remember.  This is what I must live and let You, Lord, live out in me.  Lord, be who You are in me.  Be forever faithful.  And let me be faithful in You.  Yes, You are the One that I trust in.  Whom shall I fear?  I belong to the Faithful One forever.  Praise God!

Leave a Reply

