In the Moment of Turbulence

Standard

Photo credit to renature.com

 

“…that they might ask mercy of the God of heaven concerning this secret.” (Daniel 2:18)

 
“It is the glory of God to conceal a thing; but the glory of kings is to search out a matter.” (Proverbs 25:2) And that’s exactly what is going on here. King Nebuchadnezzar is confronted with a dream that greatly troubles him. The meaning is concealed from him. So he calls in his “advisors” to interpret the dream. Only he isn’t going to tell them what the dream was in the first place. He requires that they tell him what he dreamed and interpret it.

 
“That’s impossible! We can’t know what you dreamed. You have to tell us that part. Then we’ll interpret what you tell us.” Well, it seems as though the king was pretty skeptical and figured it would be easy to make up any interpretation. So he was going to put the whole burden of truth on them. And if they couldn’t do it, what use where they as advisors? In disbelief the advisors answered, “No man on earth can tell you your dream, and there’s no great and powerful king anywhere who has ever asked this kind of thing of their magicians, or enchanters, or Chaldean. Do you realize what a hard thing you are asking? No one can tell the king that, except the gods, and they don’t live among us.” But that was not the answer the king wanted. He was infuriated and commanded all the wise men of Babylon to be destroyed.

 
Now, I know that King Nebuchadnezzar was mad and didn’t care for that answer. But I think it needed to be said. Because it’s true that only God is the revealer of secrets of our hearts and minds. And God does live among us even though He lives above us. But it’s true, gods don’t and gods can’t. But God does and God can. Their statement opened the door to show that.

 
The king was asking a hard thing. It was so hard and so rare that they couldn’t do it. In other words, no man could do that task. It would take something supernatural, something only the gods could do. To me, knowing these gods were made by my men’s ideas and men’s hands, it’s pretty much up to chance whether you get an answer or not. That’s a pretty sad state of affairs if that’s what your faith looks like. If I can’t interact with my “god” and expect him to interact on my behalf, if my “god” could care less about what troubles my soul, and his representatives have no help from him, then I’m in a pretty lonely, empty, meaningless place.

 
BUT there is a GOD! And Daniel finds out that they are going to be slain and the first thing he does is asks Arioch, the captain of the king’s guard, why? Arioch tells him how the king wanted his dream made known and interpreted and the answer of the advisors. But Daniel’s response was so different. He went straight to the king and asked him for time and told him he would show the king the interpretation of the dream. How would time help when everyone else said it was impossible?

 
Daniel wasn’t planning on knowing in his own strength. Daniel was depending upon the God who tabernacles with us, and God who manifests Himself among His people. He wasn’t any god; He is GOD. So Daniel enters his house and shares what is going on with his brethren Hannah, Michael, and Azariah. What would they do? Pray and seek the face of God. “…they would desire mercies of the God of heaven concerning this secret; that Daniel and his fellows should not perish…” And you know what happens when you seek a God who manifests Himself? That impossible secret that men can’t find out, well, it was revealed unto Daniel in a night vision.

 
So what did Daniel do first? Did he run right away to tell the king so that they would not be destroyed? Not at all. He blessed God. It’s like Psalm 103:1 being lived out. “Bless the Lord, O my soul, and all that is within me, bless His holy name.” It wasn’t like his soul was blessing and his body and mind doing something else. That Hebrew word for soul, nephesh, is about “me, all of me all at once.”(Skip Moen) It doesn’t distinguish or separate between mind, soul, body. This blessing God was an act of the whole person. It’s not just a “spiritual” reaction. It’s the whole me offering thanksgiving. It’s that going to bed and sleeping acknowledging my need for You and Your grace and mercy, it’s the waking up expecting it and living in it every moment of every day. It’s expressed in every thing that I am and every way that I am.

 
It’s when I begin to realize all the time that God is always God, that every bit of wisdom and might is found in Him. It’s when I comprehend and rejoice that the seasons change because of Him, or that kings, and kingdoms are put in place by His hand. It’s realizing and rejoicing that no wise man is wise without it being from Him, and that He has all the knowledge and understanding that we could ever need and is willing to share with us what we need. He reveals what needs to be revealed. He knows what no one else can see and brings it to light. He is worthy of praise every one of my breathing moments and beyond. He is worthy of my unceasing thankfulness.

 
And when we let You manifest Yourself in our lives, instead of relying on lesser things, You do because You created us for this, to be Your image bearers in the world. And so Daniel is able to go before the king with your answer. And he does not let the king forget the words of the other advisors. Neither does he claim ability of his own. “But there is a God in heaven that reveals secrets, and makes known to the king Nebuchadnezzar what shall be in the latter days…” Yes, no man can tell you, but the God who manifests himself to us can and will tell you when you seek Him. And Daniel revealed the dream and it’s interpretation to the king. And the advisors were saved from death and the king was satisfied and Daniel and his three fellow worshippers were blessed with high rank in the kingdom.

 
So how does this relate to me, to today? Life is hard. Things fly in and change our plans and our lives. It can be other people’s attitudes or actions or our own choices. It can be tragedy or loss or natural disaster that sweeps in and life is not what we once knew. Little things and big things that seem too heavy can flip our world upside down. And I can be like the advisors who relied on their own strength and knowledge or I can be like Daniel and rely on You. I can know that You have the answer because You are the Answer.

 
In all honesty, I’m not so sure how well I’m doing in this area. I’m certainly not under threat of being killed, and yet sometimes my stomach is uneasy, or I wonder if I’m grinding my teeth at night, or a moment hits and I’m weeping and feeling overwhelmed. And crazy me, at the same time, in the middle of all the chaos of me and my humanness, I’m thinking of how wonderful You are and how You provide all I need. I wonder if Daniel and the others wept before You, Lord? I wonder what was going on in his stomach or if he just slept peacefully? All I know is that You filled his thoughts and I want You to fill my thoughts. I want to choose to fill my thoughts with You.

 
I can’t help but think of the time that You and the disciples were out in that fishing boat in the middle of the sea when the storm arose. And there You were sleeping on a pillow in the back of the boat, nonplussed by the storm. You were not afraid of perishing. And You calmly rose to the moment in the turbulence and rebuked the turbulence with peace and stillness. And Lord, I pray that I would learn to rebuke the turbulence in my life and heart with Your peace and Your stillness today, just as Daniel did so long ago.

Leave a Reply

